The winning team from Die Pos/The Post pose for a photo ahead of the awards gala dinner. In the picture are Andries van der Heyde, Johnny Masilela, Keina Swart (bottom stair from left), Carina Bester and Bea Emslie. 
Photo: TK Mashaba

And the winners are...


TK Mashaba   l   Views: 127

The BEAT family joined our colleagues at sister newspaper, Die Pos/The Post, in celebrating a solid run at the recent Caxton Excellence Awards, competing against the company’s nationwide footprint of upwards of 158 regional newspapaers.

Editor Johnny Masilela was named the Caxton Excellence Awards Best Columnist of the Year, for his column, “The Other Side of Town”, published regularly in the Die Pos/The Post.

Die Pos/The Post team of Andries van der Heyde, Keina Swart and Bea Emslie scooped the prestigious Impact Story category, during a gala dinner held in Parktown, Johannesburg, on Thursday 15 March.

The lady who did all the packaging and sorting out for the entries, proof-reader at Die Pos/The Post, Carina Bester, also graced the occasion.

The impact profile was based on the breaking news of brazen illegal land occupations around Bela-Bela by the militant Economic Freedom Fighters.

Commenting on the Impact Story prize, the judges had this to say: “... The winning portfolio explored every angle. An explosive political story about land grabs was carefully dealt with, by getting input from every possible affected party. The portfolio is a showcase of carefull planning and hard work and was a deserving winner.”

The judging panel included, among others, Jessica Pitchford, formerly of Special Assignment and Checkpoint, and Tshwane University of Technology academic lecturer, Lizette Odendaal.

Yassen Gaffar of the Middleburg Observer, Riaan van Zyl of the Roodepoort Record, Jana Boshoff of the Middleburg Observer and Maretha Swanepoel of Polokwane Review, were the finalists in the latter cartegory.  

With regards to the triumphant Best Columnist of the Year, Masilela, the judges said: “Johnny’s columns are jaunty, and go against conventional tropes. He’s entertaing and there’s no victimhood. He ends with a well-placed punchline. He writes with rhythm and a sense of humour.”

The judges in this category included The Citizen motoring editor, André de Kock, and Gender Equality Unit founder, Rhoda Kadalie.

Fannie Groenewald was the other judge on the panel.

The finalists for the Best Columnist of the Year category were Hannes Visser of the Oudsdoorn Courant, Val van der Walt of the Zululand Observer and Tobbie van den Bergh of the Middleburg Observer. 

Masilela’s portfolio consisted of a package of five columns, among these one based on the perspective of a black journalist on farm attacks.

The latter piece trended widely on Facebook, and drew upwards of 4400 views on Die Pos/The Post website.

The other four columns forming part of the profile were all tongue-in-cheek narrative.

It was for the first time that both The BEAT and The Post entered the Caxton Excellence Awards.

35 days ago       22 March 2018