Fikile Mbalula (left) is still the ANC Youth League’s preferred candidate for secretary general ahead of the Mangaung conference. Photo: Lizzy Bapela

ANC and ANCYL nomination lists are not the same


Lizzy Bapela   l   Views: 1134

The African National Congress (ANC) and ANC Youth League (ANCYL) in Limpopo, particularly Waterberg, have a lot to say regarding their different nomination list ahead of the upcoming ANC conference in Mangaung.
Members of the ANC will converge in Mangaung and resolve issues that affect the people of the country.
The National Executive Committee (NEC) will give guidance to the process, going forward into the second century of the ANC’s existence.
Mr Butani Mabunda, representative of the ANC in the Waterberg, provided a list of candidates preferred by the ANC in the Waterberg to The BEAT. He said that it is the final line up for continuity and change.
Jacob Zuma tops the list as he was nominated for a second term in office. Cyril Ramaphosa is nominated by the ANC in the Waterberg to deputise the president. Gwede Mantashe was nominated as Secretary General and Jessie Duarte as his deputy.
The current national chairperson, Baleka Mbete, also retained her position on this nominations list and Kwa-Zulu Natal premier, Zweli Mkhize, was nominated for treasurer general.
Mabunda indicated that the nominated candidates are the future of the ANC. He claimed that victory is certain.
Meanwhile, the ANC Youth League has their own list of preferred candidates as nominees for the conference. Spokesperson for the league, Mr Klaas Mabunda, said that it is through the convergence of the membership in a conference that the organisational mandate is renewed.
He said that such a renewal demands sober and visionary leadership.  The ANCYL in Limpopo held a special Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) meeting on Monday, 8 October. The focus of the meeting was the items on the agenda of the 53rd National Conference of the ANC in Mangaung.
The meeting focussed on the leadership preference particularly because structures of the ANC are allowed to impress on nominations from 1 October.
The PEC meeting resolved to lobby branches of the ANC during their branch general meeting (BGM’s) to nominate the preferred leadership and nominate so called economic freedom fighters to be delegates to the National Conference to advocate change.
The league stands by its choice of Kgalema Motlanthe for president, deputised by Matthews Phosa. Fikile Mbalula is nominated as secretary general, with Ms Thenjiwe Mtintso as his deputy.
The youth league’s preferred treasurer general is Tokyo Sexwale and Thandi Modise is nominated for the national chairperson position.
The Congress of South African Students (COSAS) in Limpopo has also made it public that their support is thrown in with the Zuma camp. Spokesperson for the congress in the province, Mr Peter Shibambu, has posted a comment on Facebook, mocking Motlanthe’s supporters.
He said Motlanthe’s campaign is getting weaker and weaker. Shibambu said that it is obvious that there will be no contestation against Zuma and Mantashe.
Limpopo politicians, who will join branch delegates at the conference, include Cassel Mathale, Thabitha Mohlala, David Masondo and MEC Namane Masemola

5 years ago       12 October 2012